Explore Antartica

Antarctica is Earth's southernmost continent.

Adélie Land

Adélie Land is a claimed territory on the continent of Antarctica. It stretches from a coastline area along the Great Southern Ocean inland all the way to the South Pole. This territory is claimed by France as one of five districts of the French Southern and Antarctic Lands, although most countries have not given this their diplomatic recognition.                         

Argentine Antarctica

Argentine Antarctica is a sector of Antarctica claimed by Argentina as part of its national territory consisting of the Antarctic Peninsula and a triangular section extending to the South Pole, delimited by the 25° West and 74° West meridians and the 60° South parallel.

Australian Antarctic Territory

The Australian Antarctic Territory (AAT) is a part of Antarctica administered by the Australian Antarctic Division, an agency of the federal Department of the Environment and Energy.

British Antarctic Territory

The British Antarctic Territory (BAT) is a sector of Antarctica claimed by the United Kingdom as one of its 14 British Overseas Territories, of which it is by far the largest by area.

Chilean Antarctic Territory

The Chilean Antarctic Territory or Chilean Antarctica is the territory in Antarctica claimed by Chile.

Ross Dependency

The Ross Dependency is a region of Antarctica defined by a sector originating at the South Pole, passing along longitudes 160° east to 150° west, and terminating at latitude 60° south.

Peter I Island

Peter I Island is an uninhabited volcanic island in the Bellingshausen Sea, 450 kilometres (280 mi) from Antarctica.

Queen Maud Land

Queen Maud Land is a c. 2.7 million-square-kilometre (1 million sq mi)[4] region of Antarctica claimed as a dependent territory by Norway.

Marie Byrd Land

Marie Byrd Land is the portion of West Antarctica lying east of the Ross Ice Shelf and the Ross Sea and south of the Pacific Ocean, extending eastward approximately to a line between the head of the Ross Ice Shelf and Eights Coast.

Bouvet Island

Bouvet Island is an uninhabited subantarctic high island and dependency of Norway located in the South Atlantic Ocean, putting it north of and outside the Antarctic Treaty System.

French Southern & Antarctic Lands

The French Southern & Antarctic Lands is an overseas territory of France.

Heard Island & McDonald Islands

The Territory of Heard Island and McDonald Islands is an Australian external territory comprising a volcanic group of barren Antarctic islands, about two-thirds of the way from Madagascar to Antarctica.

Prince Edward Islands

The Prince Edward Islands are two small islands in the sub-antarctic Indian Ocean that are part of South Africa.

Brazilian Antarctica

Brazilian Antarctica is the name of the Antarctic territory south of 60°S, and from 28°W to 53°W, proposed as "Zone of Interest" by geopolitical scholar Therezinha de Castro.

Uruguayan Antarctica

Uruguayan Antarctica is the name given by Professor Julio César Musso to refer to the area of the Antarctica where it is believed that the Oriental Republic of Uruguay should exercise its sovereignty.

Kerguelen Islands

The Kerguelen Islands, also known as the Desolation Islands, are a group of islands in the southern Indian Ocean constituting one of the two exposed parts of the mostly submerged Kerguelen Plateau.

© Copyright 2015 - 2019 x2click - All Rights Reserved